7th SA TB Conference 2022

Join us ON-SITE: 13 - 16 September 2022          


Conference Chair: Prof Willem Hanekom Executive director, Africa Health Research Institute (AHRI)

Back to overview


Prof Willem Hanekom is the executive director of the Africa Health Research Institute in KwaZulu-Natal. He is a clinician-scientist who trained in medicine and paediatrics in South Africa and in paediatric infectious disease and research immunology in the USA. He is a renowned TB vaccine expert, having directed the South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative before leading the TB vaccine group at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Willem has >200 publications and has been awarded competitive funding by most prominent agencies. He is the previous chair of both the South African Immunology Society and the Federation of African Immunology Societies and is a member of multiple international advisory committees in tuberculosis, vaccinology and translational immunology.

Back to overview

Track 1 Chair: Dr Hlumani Ndlovu


07/04/2022, 08:59 AM

Dr Hlumani Ndlovu is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Cape Town in the Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences. His research focus is on identifying molecular factors that drive tissue pathology...   More

Track 1 Co-chair: Dr Al Leslie


07/04/2022, 09:03 AM

Dr Al Leslie is a faculty member at the Africa Health Research Institute (AHRI) and holds a Wellcome Trust Senior Fellowship at the University College of London (UCL). Originally from the UK, he moved to South...   More

Track 2 Chair: Dr Angelique Luabeya


07/04/2022, 09:03 AM

Dr Angelique Luabeya trained as a medical doctor at the University of Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of Congo. She completed her master’s degree in Epidemiology at the University of London. She worked as...   More

Track 2 Co-chair: Prof Violet Chihota


07/04/2022, 09:04 AM

Prof Violet Chihota is a Chief Specialist Scientist at The Aurum Institute, Johannesburg South Africa. She received her MSc in Medical Microbiology from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, a...   More

Track 3 Chair: Dr Marian Loveday


07/04/2022, 09:05 AM

Dr Marian Loveday is a public health researcher at the South African Medical Research Council with expertise in health systems, implementation and clinical research in TB, RR-TB and HIV. Recently her research...   More

Track 3 Co-chair: Prof Salome Charalambous


07/04/2022, 09:06 AM

Prof Salome Charalambous is the Group Chief Scientific Officer at the Aurum Institute. She is a South African medical doctor with an MSc and PhD in Epidemiology from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical...   More

Track 4 Chair: Associate Prof Sizulu Moyo


07/04/2022, 09:01 AM

Associate Prof Sizulu Moyo (MBChB, MPH, Ph.D.) is a Research Director at the Human Sciences Research Council. Her work on TB focuses on case finding and surveillance, and on bridging the clinical and social...   More

Track 4 Co-chair: Russel Rensburg


07/04/2022, 09:02 AM

Russell Rensburg is a health activist working towards equitable health access to quality health care for rural and underserved communities. He has over 15 years' experience working on health systems...   More

Committee member: Dr Norbert Ndjeka


07/04/2022, 09:08 AM

Dr Norbert Ndjeka is a Specialist in Family Medicine. He serves as Director Drug-Resistant TB, TB and HIV, Department of Health, South Africa. He is also the Chair of the rGLC-Afro. He previously worked as:...   More